Rhode Island’s AAA Diamond Awards for Hotels and Restaurants

These awards honor the best places for dining and lodging in the state.
20190411 133023

The Ocean House earned two AAA Five Diamond awards for its hotel and restaurant. Photo by Jamie Coelho.

AAA Northeast has announced the Rhode Island winners of the 2020 Four and Five Diamond Awards. These awards honor the best places for dining and lodging in the state. Each winner represents the best of the hospitality industry. The AAA Five Diamond award is given to just 0.4 percent of the 27,000 places to stay, and only 0.2 percent of the 30,000 restaurants in North America earn the honor. To have two Rhode Island establishments under the same roof honored this year is a great achievement. As for the AAA Four Diamond Award, only 2,400 properties in North America receive the prestigious designation. These businesses exceed expectations when it comes to providing their guests with memorable experiences.

The Rhode Island properties will receive their awards at the AAA Diamond Awards luncheon that will be held March 26 at the Ocean House.

The year listed after each restaurant or property indicates how long the establishment has been earning the AAA award recognition.


The Rhode Island Five Diamond Winners this year are:

COAST, Ocean House, Watch Hill, 2018

Ocean House, Watch Hill, 2011


The Rhode Island Four Diamond Winners this year are:


Cara, Newport, first recognized in 2004

The Dining Room at Castle Hill, Newport, 2016

The Vanderbilt Grill, Newport, 2012

Gracie’s, Providence, 2011


Point Pleasant Inn & Resort, Bristol, 2003

Cliffside Inn, Newport, 2003

Forty 1 North, Newport, 2017

Gurney’s Newport Resort & Marina, Newport, 2018

Hydrangea House Inn, Newport, 2005

Newport Marriott, Newport, 2017

The Chanler at Cliff Walk, Newport, 2004

The Vanderbilt Auberge Resorts Collection, Newport, 2011

Hotel Providence, Providence, 2005

Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, Providence, 2008

Watch Hill Inn, Watch Hill, 2016

The Weekapaug Inn, Westerly, 2013